Life in Marshall Islands

Marshall Islands' political system

Marshall Islands is known to have a parliamentary type of government called as Nitijela. The country’s constitution was written in 1979, which paved the way for a president to also function as the nation’s chief executive. Meanwhile, its legal system was created from the Trust Territory laws but was later on modified by various laws. In terms of the Judiciary, the courts are divided into four, namely Supreme Court, High court, district and community courts, and traditional courts.